Skip to content

A method to my madness.

With Phillip on the dock at my house in NNY

Admittedly it’s odd that I started a blog.  Especially one which focuses on my dogs.  You may ask yourself why did she decide to start a blog? What’s the story behind it? Is it out of boredom or is there a point to all of this?  Although it may confuse those of you who are close to me, there is in fact a method to my madness.

My dad on a visit in NNY.

A lifetime ago, my father Kevin Rizer started breeding and showing Golden Retrievers.  Like me, he always loved animals and surrounded himself by them.  He chose Goldens for many of the same reasons I’ve stood by the breed.  They’re happy, intelligent, incredibly lovable, more loyal than many humans and very easy on the eyes. My dad started showing and breeding slowly.  He watched and learned, made many friends who were pros and eventually became an expert himself.  My dad made Rizer’s Goldens into one of the best Golden Retriever kennels in the country.  I grew up with him toting his adorable dogs to shows, grooming them religiously and sharing ice cream cones with them.  In my dad’s words “I know every single thing, good and bad  that go into my dogs mouths and believe me, they’re mouths are far cleaner than most humans’.”

With my sister Julia on a trip to Fire Island.

Sadly, my dad lost his life to HIV/AIDS in 1992 and was never able to see his dreams for Rizer’s Goldens come to fruition.  After my dad died his partner, Scott Discount and Scott’s (happily now) husband Seann Coffee continued the kennel and have bred and shown some of the most beautiful and well-respected Golden Retriever’s in the world.  I have been fortunate enough to have owned a number of these Golden’s which include my beloved Arthur, Phillip, Henry, Albert, and now Beatrice.  I also have to include Bo who is my sister’s Golden and also Henry’s sister.  Anytime I am home visiting my sister and her adorable family Bo somehow ends up in my car, home and eventually my bed until the end of my trip.  She’s my rental GR and I love her dearly.

www.AMFAR.org

Bo, Hen, and Al at the cottage.

This summer visiting baby Bea (with Alex) her sister and their dad George, with Seann and Scott.

Right before my dad’s death in the summer of 1992 he and Scott sent Julia and I each one of their Goldens.  They sent Julia Arthur and for me, Phillip. Those two dogs instantly became our loyal companions and a connection to our father.  Julia spent the entire summer running with Arthur and I spent the entire summer on the beach with Phil.  After our dad died the time we spent with those dogs somehow brought us more and more happiness.  Although Arthur was a complete saint through and through, dear old Phil was a complete terror.  He didn’t like rules and loved to run away.  For the better part of Phil’s life he was found stealing hamburgers from adorable unsuspecting campers.

Me with Phil in the summer of 1992

With Jul and dad in Connecticut, awesome fashion sense for all three.

Verrazano bridge with my dad.

My mom and dad

Last year after Alex and I got engaged we started talking about the billions of things we wanted to accomplish in our life, and happily there are a billion and one.  One of the things that is right up there for me is adding to  the incredible kennel that my dad started and which Scott and Seann have grown into such an incredible success.  Thus begins my blog initiative.

Not that Henry and Albert are not the most gorgeous dogs in the world but, they were never destined to be shown.  Our little Bea was.  I have been working diligently on teaching both myself and Bea the ropes of what it takes to be a show dog.  We go to conformation classes where we learn to make Bea stand in a way that shows off her cute little frame and teaches me how to not look like a fool.  I have been trying to learn how to groom her so her coat lays just so and all of her hairs are in place.  This was a lot trickier then I expected  (I guess I’m used to people doing my hair not, the other way around).  I’m very picky with Bea’s diet and am careful to make sure she doesn’t hurt her hips.  Basically what I’m saying is that Bea is like Miss America, in training.  I have a few more classes to get under my belt and some more practicing with her blow dryer before she’ll be ready to jump in the ring but, we’re getting close.  I am pretty sure it will take Bea and I a little time before we find our groove but, eventually we will.  I know my dad would have been proud.

Will I continue to write about the fun and boring places I go, infatuation with clothes, my pet peeves, strange obsessions, fears, and the fact that I’m trying to procure a certain Alexander McQueen gown? Of course I will.  I just wanted to make sure to let you know that there is a point to all of this.  Eventually (assuming I don’t fail miserably at showing) I’d like to add more dogs (yes I am crazy) and begin breeding.  At that point I’ll add to my website and make it more of an official place for the kennel.  For now, I thought a simple blog would do.  A place where I can tell funny stories about the dogs or make fun of myself.  Nothing serious, just a stepping stone for Bea and her budding career.

For once there is in fact, a method to my madness.

Dad with Arthur and his sister.

Sending warm thoughts, Maggie

With Catharine and baby Albert in the summer of 2005.

Dad with me and Julia in NNY

With dad in NNY.

My dad introduced me to fashion shortly after this photo. He brought me to Calvin Klein and told me to look and learn. I think I've got it down dad.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Holeigh Robinson-D'Water #

    I grew up with your Dad, it was nice to see pictures of him. He was a very special person to me. I was heart-broken when he moved away in grade school (PS 16), but as fate has it, I was able to see him all the time because my foster family lived on Cebra Avenue. That was right by the Lutheran School he and Linda attended. We both later attended Curtis together. I’m glad you have cherished moments with your Dad…he was one of a kind… ( :

    August 9, 2011
  2. Love this post! What a wonderful opportunity to grow up around lots of goldens. I had my first golden in south Florida when I was 6, then we got a second girl when I was 9. We got 2 more when I was 18 because we lost our younger one to a heart worm :(. They are such a blessing in my family’s life. My sister now has her own and I am impatiently/patiently awaiting the day that I can get my own.

    My best friend just got 2 girl pups yesterday, they are beautiful. My father is in the hospital and simply sending him the pictures of the new pups has brightened his spirits.

    They are truly the best dogs anyone could love!

    that is Star, Gracie (the bossy one) & Spencer

    thank you for your blog!
    🙂

    January 27, 2011
  3. This was a really nice post, Maggie. I had no idea the deep connection you have with Goldens. Lovely story. Thank you for sharing.

    January 26, 2011
  4. This is a wonderful story. You are doing a great job with your blog!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Hollye

    January 26, 2011
  5. This is incredibly touching and beautifully written. Thank you for this, my lovely Maggie! I will read it again and again and be moved by it and hope I will someday own one of the “Maggie” dogs! Lucinda

    January 26, 2011
  6. David Steward #

    Great blog! Thanks for posting. So wonderful to see not only your story with dogs, but also to see so many happy shots of Kevin.

    January 25, 2011
  7. Maggie,
    Wonderful story, and very well written. Love the photos over the years……..and I hope you have great success with Bea!

    January 25, 2011
  8. Tracie #

    I’m so very sorry about your dad. This is such a touching story. I only recently discovered this site and am hooked. I just adore goldens! Thanks for sharing your stories and photos. Keep up the great work!

    January 24, 2011
  9. jade rage #

    I came accross your twitter than the blog after finding a website pertaining to jefferson county. Having grown up in wayertown my self, seeing you where there to intrigued me. So did the love of dogs. I definitely think I will have to keep up on the blog to see how you and bea do in upcoming shows. Goos luck to you both

    January 24, 2011
  10. trina #

    i luv your blog! i luv the great photos of you n your family..looking forward to reading more about your beautiful GR…cheers

    January 23, 2011

Reply

