Skip to content

That’s what friends are for. Keep Smiling.

New York, New York

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMh0AeQ7FUo Video of  “That’s What Friends Are For” CLICK!!!

What a hell of a town. Last night kicked off my latest NY experience in a MAJOR way.  The 25th anniversary of AMFAR

Stevie Wonder awesomeness....

 

 

in NYC last night was one spectacular evening, and I want to share some of my night with all of you.

First off, for those of you who don’t know, AMFAR is incredibly near and dear to my heart and has been for most of my life.  When I was young and my dad would talk about having HIV and all of the horrible things that go along with it, he always had one positive note to add, Mathilde Krim.

Mathilde Krim is not only the founding chairman for AMFAR but has been actively raising money for research in  HIV/AIDS and raising public awareness of HIV/AIDS since the first reported cases, in 1981.  My dad met with Mathilde at many points and conveyed her extremely positive feeling of the potential for a cure of HIV/AIDS to me, many times.

Year’s later when I was modeling and was given the opportunity to help AMFAR raise money for research and to raise

Amazing Anna Wintour

awareness I remembered the hope in my dad’s heart and became a very dedicated activist for HIV/AIDS.  AMFAR has become an incredible place for me to remember my father and help make sure that one day, a little girl somewhere in the world will not lose her father to this horrible disease.

With all of that said, what an AMAZING NIGHT! I can’t even begin to tell you about the incredible gowns, amazing people and extraordinary talent that filled Cipriani Wall Street last night.  Best of all, it was all in the name of putting and END to HIV/AIDS.  There’s no better reason for black tie, in my book.

My night began when my gorgeous date, Lydia Fenet picked me up at the Trump Soho (my current NYC home).  As it happens, we caught up over a few glasses of champagne before heading downtown to the main event.  On arrival ( a tad late, the champagne’s fault) we realized that this year’s NYC AMFAR GALA was clearly going to top….just about everything.  Inside, I’m not exactly sure who to start with but, lets just say pretty much everyone was there.  Anna Wintour, Blake Lively, Elton John, Stevie Wonder (awesomeness), Kenneth Cole, Karen Elson, Donna Karan, Iman, Patrick Dempsey, Richard Gere, Rosie O’Donnell and so so so so many more.  What I’m saying is that it was the place to be, and as luck had it, I was.  What was especially cool for me was that I

 

with Lydia Fenet at NY AMFAR gala

 

 

presented a portrait Herb Ritts took of DameElizabeth Taylor which sold for a whopping $85,000.  Apparently I rocked the presentation, that or it’s a pretty stellar portrait.

The evening ended with THE MOST AMAZING SHOW EVER!!!!  Dionne Warwick, Gladys Knight, Stevie Wonder and Elton John signing “That’s what Friends are For”.  Killer night. Check out my link at the top of the page.  Clearly there was no other choice but to record this epic event on my IPhone, so I did.

Life continues and I have been running all around Manhattan like a gerbil in a wheel trying to make all of my appointments, shows, and parties.  Today has been completely crammed having made it to the BCBG show, an awesome FENDI party, the launch of the amazing Douglas Hannant perfume and the Cinema Society Screening of Cedar Rapids.  Perfectly amazing.  As I get ready for each of these, donning the MOST gorgeous gowns and heels, I know I’ll be able to make it through the day but, only in the name of fashion.

That’s a joke, I promise.

 

Moi.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michael Kors and Donna Karan

Ummm, Elton John. awesome.

The lovely Karen Elson!!

At BCBG with Jill Flint of Royal Pains

AMFAR with Lydia Fenet

Backstage at BCBG with the designer Max Azria (also of Max Arzia and Herve Leger)

No comments yet

Reply

