Skip to content

Rememba Mnemba:

The stunning beach was all ours.

This morning I was asked to submit some of our honeymoon photos to go along with a special project I’m involved with.  It comes out in a couple of months and when it does, I’ll be sure to put it up and give you the history behind it!  In the mean time, I spent this morning going through the millions of photos we took during our blissful two-week honeymoon.  I realized I hadn’t really shared them with many of my family and friends and thought this would be a perfect opportunity to do it, before they’re published!

Although the entire two weeks of our honeymoon were absolutely perfect start to finish, Mnemba Island really took the cake!  Mnemba Island is a tiny little island off the coast of Zanzibar.  It has only 10 little huts which are situated on the gorgeous beach that surrounds the island. Days are spent reading, tanning, sleeping….my kind of vacation.  Meals are served anytime of day you like and although the menu typically has one option per meal, you are free to request anything you want.  For example, I had lobster every single night we were there.  I kid you not.

We spent about a week on this gorgeous little island relaxing, scuba diving (ok that was mostly Alex, I supported him) perfecting my tan, and recovering after all the wedding planning we’d spent the better part of the year doing.  The staff is excellent, location perfectly remote, and the ambiance everything you could wish for in a perfect romantic escape.

It takes about a day to get to from NYC but, I highly recommend it!

Working on the tan (yes Julia I had sunscreen on).

It takes about 20 minutes to walk all the way around the island!

I felt that the neon pink accentuated my tan.

This one was for the Campbell's Pointers!

Obvious that we would end up on a boat (it's called a dhow)!

We were so lucky, a nest of sea turtles hatched while we were there!

I have never been on a longer and bumpier road then it took to get to the boat which brought us to the island. Mnemba is seriously remote, in a good way.

We were obsessed with these Tanzanian limes.

Blisssss.

Before we arrived in Mnemba we enjoyed a night at the glamorous Burj Al Arab in Dubai and also spent a week enjoying an exquisite safari experience!  We divided our time between the Singita Grumeti Reserves and Singita Sabora Tented Camp.  They were both out of this world!  We explored morning and night and saw everything from Lions to Hippos, Rhinos, Cheetah, Giraffes, Hogwarts, Zebras, Elephants, and more! It was an experience of a lifetime and we have the photos to prove it! I would definitely recommend that you check out both of these destinations if you’re up for some serious pampering and adventure!

Fresh off the plane in Dubai!

Exploring in style.

Louis and Louis came along for the ride.

In search of the Cheetah!

So pretty!!

We saw a lion attack a baby buffalo!

Cheetah where are you?!?

They were 7 feet away from us! Ah!

At Grumeti Reserves.

Happily home with Hen & Al, Bea was checking out the souvenirs!

I don’t think there was anyway we could have improved on our honeymoon.  It was absolutely spectacular!  If you’re looking for a perfect honeymoon-I definitely recommend copying ours!

Freezing in Ca and dreaming of Lions, massage, and the hot white sands of Mnemba,

Maggie

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I’m in Christchurch, NZ and reading your honeymoon post
    made me look towards my suitcase and seriously consider just
    packing up and moving to Mnemba. You look beautiful in your photos,
    your a very lucky lady!

    March 4, 2011

Reply

