Skip to content

Dress Stress

This morning I woke up and realized I hadn’t heard back from my agent.  I left her a message Friday night asking her to find me a Balenciaga gown for a gala I’m going to this Thursday, today is Tuesday.  I might be in trouble.

I did what I do best, emailed her to see if she’d gotten my message.  She called me back wondering why I hadn’t called her to begin with.  Balenciaga is based in Paris which means contacting them and getting a gown from Paris to me in two days…not the smartest way to approach the situation…  What can I say?  Gown-not top priority, I guess it should have been.

Co said she’d do her best but, in the mean time I should get a backup.  The issue here is that the gala is for Balenciaga, which means you really shouldn’t wear Chanel or Michael Kors, if you know what I mean.  It would be like going to someone’s wedding and wearing a white dress – just inappropriate, right?  Luckily, I happen to have a black tie vintage Balenciaga dress which will substitute just fine if Co can’t work her magic and get me the $100,000 vintage couture that I really want to wear.  Poor me.

Now my new problem, I definitely need new shoes.  My dress is a very delicate creamy gold silk gown and the shoes I used to wear with this dress were consumed by my loyal admiral, Henry. Very sad.

These days I think shopping online is not only faster but, there are so many more choices.  So obviously… www.barneys.com is where I headed in search of my 5″ gold strappy delicate but, cool stilettos I created in my mind.  I did not find them BUT, I did find many more shoes that I would love to own ASAP.

Alex, I think I deserve a gift...or 6- please?

I know it's out of focus but, I just wanted to share what Albert just gave me. His pre-consumed kibble.

They won't go with my dress but, I would really like these. Miu Miu, I love you.

Hmm, these might be prefect!

I’m hoping to go to the gala both clothed and shoe-d  but, we shall see.  In the mean time I am going to try my luck at BrianAtwood.com and leave the rest to fate.  I will either look – really good or, REALLY BAD.  I’ll post pictures, I’m never afraid to make fun of myself!

Here’s to thinking in advance,

Maggie

This was not on Barneys.com, has nothing to do with shoes but...sure is gorgeous! Maybe for say, a really good wife gift?? Just think about it.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Beth Amorosi #

    Hi,
    I have a few ideas for you about the Balenciaga gown….email me at beth@ammocomm.com with your info and I can try to help.
    I also went to Nordstrom’s yesterday and have never really shopped there. They have a fab shoe selection of Louboutins, Choos, Blahniks, Prada etc. But I love the champagne heels with the floral appliques on them. Stellar.

    March 22, 2011

Reply

