Skip to content

My Top Dog

If there’s one thing I’m not good at talking about (and there’s pretty much only one) it would be my precious Henry and the possibility of him not being here, one day.

If you’ve been calling, emailing, texting, facebooking, tweeting…or in some other random way trying to be in touch with me and I’ve been seemingly avoiding contact, it’s because I am.  If you know me or, if you don’t and there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that my darling Henry holds more power in my heart then just about anything else ever has.

It’s more then the time we’ve spent together or the fact that he’s my oldest dog that makes him so special to me.  It’s actually far more selfish.  Henry, is the only one who’s been through life with me, day and night during all the good times and the many bad.  No matter what I’ve been through or what life has rolled our way, we’ve come out together.  Maybe it’s because I got Henry at a time in my life when so much was just beginning to change and that our life since then had been practically as unstable as possible.  Well, for a while there anyway.  I’d like to think I’ve been there for Henry too, through all of his good times and helping him avoid the bad but, it’s weeks like these that really make me question that.

Late Thursday Alex called to tell me he was taking Hen to the doggie ER and that he was in rough shape.  I’d been fearing that call for a very long time.  I had a horrible gut feeling, probably because Hen is about 9 and a half and my other two goldens, Arthur and Phillip only lived until they were ten.

To make a long story short and since I can’t tell anyone this story much less type it without feeling sick, our story doesn’t end terribly but, doesn’t end well.  Henry has cancer and he’s spleen was bleeding into his stomach pretty terribly.  He had an emergency surgery to have his spleen and as many cancerous nodules removed as possible.   We weren’t sure Henry would be able to make it through the surgery and had to make a pretty tough decision as to whether to wait for me to make it back to the west coast or put him in surgery immediately.  We thought it was best for Hen to put him in as soon as possible and luckily, it seems we made a good call.  We’re really lucky that Alex caught it in time and made such good and fast decisions.   It definitely saved his life.

Hen is home now but, we’re on borrowed time.  Our vet said the surgery will really only buy him 1-3 months but, I’ll take every second I can get.

Maggie

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Susan #

    My beloved Golden, Maggie, who is turning 11 in November, was just diagnosed with lymphoma – which appeared initially in her mouth and is also in her spleen. She has just begun 25 weeks of chemotherapy. We are truly hoping we can buy her a year. It is so heartbreaking, and I totally feel your pain. I wish you and Henry well.

    August 15, 2011
    • Susan, I’m so sorry to hear you’re going through this. It truly is heartbreaking. We just started looking into chemotherapy and are considering trying it as well. I wish you lots of luck and success. Lots of love to you and your Maggie.

      Maggie

      August 15, 2011
  2. So sorry to hear about your Henry. My golden Stella was diagnosed with Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency this past spring, and luckily she is with my parents while I “test the waters” here in Boston. It was the most difficult thing to hear them tell me that she was so thin, so weak and so sick. I was on pins and needles, sobbing until I heard that she had EPI and not cancer. Thankfully she’s getting better now. At least you know you get to snuggle him for 3 more months ❤

    August 14, 2011
  3. Jen #

    Oh, Maggie… I so understand what you’re going through. I’m sending you hugs and healing blessings!

    August 14, 2011

Reply

