Skip to content

Henry

To be completely fair to my sweet husband, I’ve been a bit of a nightmare to deal with.  To be completely fair to me, being pregnant is a totally legitimate excuse.  Nonetheless, I’m no peach.

Henry with his henry.

To top off all the emotions that come along with pregnancy, Henry’s sudden illness did nothing to make things easier.  In fact, if I was at a stable 5.5 – I’m now rolling down the hill at a 14, at the least.  Reasonably expected given the circumstances.

HENRY

A few weeks ago, we decided to get a boat for the cottage on Lake Ontario.  It happens to be my favorite place in the world, as well as Henry’s.  Alex, Al, & Bea are banking on the boat to bring it to the top of their favorites list as well.  At any rate, we spent a long time searching for just the right boat that would suit our lifestyle at the cottage and – we found it.  It’s an old boat, built right on Lake Ontario in 1922.  It needs a fair amount of TLC but, once it’s finished it will fit right in.

One of the other nights, when I was overwhelmingly distraught about Henry (as I am every 5 minutes) Alex told me he’d decided to name our special new cottage addition after our most special friend, Henry.  It really means the world to me as it means that in someway Hen will always be at his most favorite place as well as mine.  Kind of heartbreaking but, at the same time, a very sweet gesture made by Alex.  I don’t think he knows how much it means to me (my sobbing probably didn’t clearly relay my feelings).

As far as our dear Henry, we’re really playing things day to day.  The chemo was really rough on him and for a few days there, I thought they were his last.  Lately, his spirits have been up and he’s been enjoying steaks, swimming, and sleeping in bed just like he loves.  We’re hoping things keep going the way they are, at which point we’ll try for a second round of chemo, next Friday.  If Henry slows down again, which is completely possible, then we won’t push his health and instead just keep on loving him the best ways we know how.

I always knew Hen would always be with me and this boat will be just one more reminder. If I have things my way, Hen will be riding along with us but, I guess in someways, this guarantees it.

Maggie

My thanks to all of you who have been emailing and asking after Hen, it really means so much.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Maggie, I found your blog through a pic of you posted on People.com with a dog in your arms and I am delighted that I’ve found your site.

    Your love for your dogs is incredible, that’s how I feel about my two boys. I love them more than there are words and the mere thought of losing one of my best friends, one of my little shadows is just too much to think of.

    You’re giving Henry the best life there is and I sincerely hope that he’ll pull through or at the very least, live out the rest of his days happy and content with your family. Stay strong, I know it’s very hard to do when all you keep thinking and worrying about is your sick pet.

    That’s so cool you have a cottage on Lake Ontario. I work in Toronto but commute from a town just north of the city every day.

    Anyways, not to babble your ear off but keep the readers posted on Henry. I pray for him.

    xox
    Lindsay

    September 15, 2011
  2. Maggie, this made me cry.

    I know the overwhelming sorrow to lose someone you love so much and I’m only happy that Henry has such a loving, strong, compassionate friend and owner in you.

    He’s beautiful and I wish you both the best of luck.

    September 14, 2011
  3. Denise V. #

    My boyfriend and I are praying for Henry. I hope things get better for you, Maggie.

    September 11, 2011
  4. Susan #

    Maggie — I know how much pain you are feeling right now, as I am in the same situation you are in with MY Maggie girl. She had her spleen removed last week, and has endured 2 rounds of chemo so far. Tomorrow we find out exactly what kind of cancer we are dealing with – her spleen had to come out to be sent for testing. The biopsy did not reveal enough nor did 3 ultrasounds. Our girl is shaved and skinny. We are trying to fatten her up right now to face what lies ahead. Good luck to you and Henry. Maggie and I wish you both the very best.

    September 5, 2011
  5. Maggie my heart goes out to you — and the best to Hen in his big fight.

    September 5, 2011

Reply

