Skip to content

A Year in Review

It’s true what they say about time flying.  A year ago this weekend Alex and I celebrated our wedding with a small group of family and friends (and Henry and Albert) in Lake Placid, NY.  It was (as any bride will say about her wedding) pretty much perfect.

Just Married

I can hardly believe that it has been a full year!  I’ll take this as a good sign.  In these past 12 months Alex and I have moved and decorated, we’re in the midst of a renovation (our bedroom with me 7 months pregnant, of course) we have a sick dog, and I’ve been pregnant 7 of these 12 blissful months.  We must be doing something right!  I’m going to throw the credit to my husband for putting up with me with a smile on his face.

Hen and Al giving us their blessing, with my brother Jake and sister Kate.

This weekend we had planned to return to the Lake Placid Lodge, in Lake Placid to celebrate our one year anniversary.  We’d hoped to do it every year.  Unfortunately, between me being pregnant (my Dr. asked how long it would take me to get to a hospital is there was an emergency and the conversation ended there) and Henry being ill, we had to make a change to our plans.  Traveling with the restrictions of having to be able to drive (dogs) and finding a romantic place (anniversary) where they would allow dogs (three) is nearly impossible.  Luckily for us, I think we’ve found the perfect spot!

Kisses for the Bride and Groom

Tomorrow afternoon we’re heading up the California coast to a romantic little rustic retreat on the ocean called Manka’s Iverness Lodge.  It sure looks perfect but, I’ll have to let you know.  We’re looking forward to our cabin on the water and letting the dogs swim, chase seals, and getting nice and muddy.  There’s nothing more romantic than that.

Groomsman Albert

There’s no question in my mind, despite Henry falling ill, that I’m the happiest I’ve ever been.  We have a beautiful and happy little family that’s growing and changing by the minute.  I guess that’s what happens when you marry the man of your dreams.

Maggie

Reunited with the dogs after the Honeymoon!

Family portrait minus Ms. Bea

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Happy Anniversary Maggie!!! Have a great time this weekend & I’ll see you next week when you return. Lots of love, Carolyn

    September 16, 2011
  2. We had our dogs in our wedding 3 years ago as well. My mom walked them down the aisle. They’re bichons and so because they’re small dogs, a friend of mine made them both matching tuxedo’s. It was adorable and I wouldn’t have had it any other way. We had to include them because they mean the world to us.

    Happy Anniversay and have a great weekend 🙂

    September 16, 2011
  3. Bonnie #

    Surfin’ and stumbled on your blog. Just want 2 offer congrats on your anniversary, motherhood, and offer prayers for Henry’s recovery. In your blog you exhibited tremendous insight. Keep his comfort above your own desires to prolong his life and treasure each moment while he is still with you. We lost our canine companion of 10 years, Elvis, last year and longing for his presence visits me a little each day. I counter the sadness with remembering his silly antics, his joy in simple things such as going for a ride in the car, and appreciation for the immense desire all dogs seem to have to please their human counterparts! Eighteen months ago my 83 year old mother was told she had 6 months to live because of lung cancer. Today she commented that she enjoyed the cool breeze while pulling weeds from her flower bed. Chemo is sometimes successful and you will be glad in hindsight to know that you at least gave Henry that chance. Bless you all.

    September 15, 2011
  4. gabrielle #

    Happy 1st Wedding Anniversary! You are as beautiful on the inside as you are on the outside. Have a wonderful celebration. xox

    September 15, 2011
  5. Amanda #

    Happy Anniversary – many more! I’m so sorry about your Henry – it sounds like he’s feeling well-ish right now, so I hope that continues. Our Albert, a 14-yr-old lab mix (15 in November!), has “The Old” as we call it. He’s very slow, has some health issues (kidneys, eyes, hips), but as long as he eats/drinks/etc., isn’t in pain, and is happy, we will do anything for him. So, I totally understand the ups and downs you have as Hen is doing well, then not….We have two other dogs as well, and they’re all our babies. Congrats on your *human* baby on the way, too!

    September 15, 2011

Reply

