Skip to content

The Uphill Climb

I’ve decided that pregnancy is a lot like Mountain Biking.  It’s painful, long, hurts, makes you look ugly, and just when you think you’re on the last bend…. you realize you’re not even close.  That last bend is of course, the longest and steepest of them all.

As with every mountain bike ride I’ve humiliated myself on (and there have been quite a few) I am trying to remember that feeling of joy and sense of accomplishment I have when slipping out of my bike clothes and into a nice hot shower (typically, accompanied soon after by a glass of wine).  It’s only then when I feel like I’ve done something good for my body and think back on how beautiful the air smelled and the gorgeous views at the top of whichever mountain it was that just tried to kill me.  I’m really banking on that feeling at the end of this pregnancy.

With only 6 weeks left to go I actually think I’ve had a pretty easy 8.5 months, knock on wood.  I had zero morning sickness, no health issues, the baby is seemingly very healthy and his muscles are apparently (according to my rib cage) doing quite well.  At 19lbs. to date, I’ve gained an acceptable but, not insane amount of weight.  Although I’m told to expect to gain another few in the following weeks, I’m not at the point of having a heart attack over loosing it all.  That will probably change.  My skin hasn’t done anything weird and I guess due to my clear white epidermis, I have avoided any pigment changes that often accompany pregnancy so, that’s nice.  All in all, not much to complain about except that I’m insanely tired of being pregnant.

I’m not that girl who thinks it’s cute to tote around a basketball on my stomach or the girl who enjoys not wearing my normal clothes.  I did have to get a few new pieces but, for the most part I stuck with dresses from Alexander Wang, JCrew shirts and khaki’s, Lululemon pants, and Victoria Secret beach dresses.  I bought and promptly returned 3 pair of maternity jeans.  They are just not glam.

So what am I complaining about? I get to meet our little baby boy at the end of this very long climb and begin building a life of memories and happiness with him, totally worth it.  I guess I’m just impatient- that and I really wish our bodies could build a baby in say, 3 months.  That would be much better.  I guess it’s true what they say… Good things come to those who wait!

I think I’ll hold my breathe for the next 6 weeks.  That’s what I do on bike rides,

Maggie

On a side note, please take a look at some photos from some things that are making the last few weeks of pregnancy extra enjoyable!  We’re on a major deadline to move back into our bedroom, bath & closets.  Additionally, I was told yesterday by the baby furniture lady (who was really sweet when I was ordering everything) that everything “should be in” in 3 weeks.  That’s only 6 weeks late.. no big deal. Good thing we have lots of dog beds in case the baby comes early?

Our pretty front yard

Beautiful closet

Luxurious bathroom

Our bedroom..

Our temporary closet...where we're having Thanksgiving dinner??

closet.. view 2

UNfurnished baby nursery... awesome.

More empty walls for the nursery...

No comments yet

Reply

