Skip to content

Rizer’s Goldens is having new Puppies!

We all know by now that little Beatrice turned out to be a perfect little Golden Retriever! Clearly, her mom and dad decided they needed to have more puppies just like her!!!

Beatrice as a puppy

It’s not always as simple as it looks to get such a perfect little puppy when breeding dogs. There’s so much to be considered when breeding from temperament, size, coloring, genealogy, health history, teeth and so on and so on… Everyone at Rizer’s Goldens was a little sad when there were only two beautiful puppies from the last litter Bea’s mom and dad had so, logically we had to do the breeding again!

Bea's Dad, and father to be, George!

When I say we-I don’t mean me, yet. Although I am very excited to get started on breeding Golden’s, I’m not completely ready yet and am going to leave this one to the experts. After my dad past away in 1992, Rizer’s Goldens continued on through my dad’s partner, Scott Discount. Scott continued to show, breed and expand Rizer’s Goldens and together with his husband Seann Coffee (Seann’s actually become the boss around the Goldens’ house) they have made Rizer’s Goldens into what it is today!

Bea's mom and expectant mom, Hailey! Winning at the shows!

Together Scott and Seann have bred, shown, and spoiled hundreds of dogs and in the process created beautiful doggies such as my gorgeous Henry, Albert, and Beatrice. It is my hope that Alex and I will do some West Coast breeding of Ms. Beatrice next summer. The most exciting part of this is that we would be breeding her to Henry’s father (thanks to medical and freezer technology) but, in the mean time I’m still a watch and learn kind of girl.

With Seann, Scott, Alex, Bea, Tess (Bea's sister!) and George (Bea's dad!) summer '10 in NNY.

George. A professional photo is a necessity for a champion Golden!

I am SO excited that Beatrice will become a sister to all the Christmas puppies that everyone at Rizer’s Goldens is awaiting anxiously! Bea’s mom, Hailey apparently has a very full Belly this time around and is as sick of being pregnant as I am! George, Bea’s dad, who I have to say has one of my favorite names and is an extraordinarily handsome Golden is thrilled to be becoming a dad once again, especially since he knows how well the last one turned out!

Hailey, winning again!

We’re thrilled for the expectant family and can’t wait to meet all of Bea’s little brother’s and sisters! I’ll be sure to post photos once the little puppies arrive and keep you up to date about the future breedings we have planned this year at Rizer’s Goldens! Who doesn’t love a perfect little Golden Retriever puppy?!

Maggie

For any questions about future puppies, please feel free to send me a message or contact Seann at:

http://facebook.com/seann.coffee

Our little Bea!

Hailey, Bea's mom and mother to be! Enjoying a winter day in Northern New York!

Ms. Beatrice being weighed in as a newborn... she's always liked to eat!

Bea's beautiful sister!

More Rizer's Goldens! I'll probably get in trouble for posting a picture of non-groomed Golden's but, they look happy!

RIzer's Goldens lounging around the house..

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Robin morano RN #

    Your Golden family is gorgeous. I have been searching for a excellent breeder for our 2nd Golden. Our 1st breeder closed up shop after 20 years. Our Maggie May is almost 10 years young and as funny, stubborn and lovable as the day we brought her home. She has a malignant tumor in her heart and I have no idea what I will do without her. How do you kill your best friend who has such devotion and trust in you. Feel so lost

    zoo9110@hotmail.com
    Robin Morano RN

    March 7, 2012
    • Hi Robin,

      I’m so sorry for all that you are going through. I honestly feel your pain. I can easily relate to what you’re saying, especially about killing your best friend. That is exactly how I felt, initially.

      I think it is important to try everything you can to help and comfort your friend. Even after everyone told me not to try chemo, I knew I had to at least give it a shot as long as it wasn’t risking his life. Obviously, I feel that letting them go is the last resort and one that you really have to wait out. I think sometimes, people don’t want to do the hard work of dealing with a sick pet and end up putting them down before they should. This makes me very sad. Our friends are there for us no matter what and I feel strongly that we need to do the same for them. You will know in your heart when the time comes.

      After watching Henry suffer, it became clear to me that it was no longer a life he was happy living. He couldn’t play ball, jump on the bed, swim, or even greet me at the door. I felt that my decision came down to allowing him to die with dignity, the way he had always lived.

      On his last day, Henry suffered a horrible seizure in front of me and I realized that keeping him alive would be so selfish of me. The dog who had loved me with every ounce of his soul and given me everything he could finally needed me to put him first. I knew I would be broken hearted but, I also knew that letting him go was the best thing I could do for him. The hardest thing I’d ever done gave my best friend the peace he deserved.

      I hope this can give you some help with what you’re going through. I know this is so difficult for you. The best advice I can give you is to be as good of a friend to her as she has been to you.

      Maggie

      After Henry died, a friend sent me this quote which I find happiness in.

      “It came to me that every time I lose a dog they take a piece of my heart with them and every new dog that comes into my life gifts me with a piece of their heart. If I live long enough, all the components of my heart will be dog and I will be as generous and loving as they are.”

      March 7, 2012
      • Robin morano RN #

        Thank you so much for sharing your pain with me, as it did help. I still feel stark terror at what life will be like without her .. My husband just cancelled a flight for a conference he was attending. Maggie has been unable to move without great difficulty for the past 24 hours. She was DX Nov 10th, almost 7 months ago and it has been a roll a coaster ride ever since. I spend hours talking softly to her while gently rubbing her belly. At times her eyes star directly into mine as if she is saying “please help me mommy”
        I am starting to cry but I thank you from the bottom of my heart

        June 2, 2012
  2. Sharon #

    Looking at your beautiful website. Are you located in New Jersey?

    October 24, 2011
    • Thanks so much. Im between New York, California, and a little in between!

      October 24, 2011
  3. Kristine #

    Hey Maggie! I’ve been reading your blog for a while and I love it. I actually grew up in right next to Diablo and now live in SF so I love that it’s a “local” blog!

    I’ve fallen in love with your Goldens from reading about them, and my boyfriend and I are quite the Golden fans.

    We’ve been talking about getting a puppy for quite a while and next summer seems to be the time we’re looking to do it. I would love it if you could keep me posted on whether Bea’s planning to become a mom! I care a lot about good breeding, temperament, genealogy, etc (which is part of the reason we’ve waited so long!) and it’s clear how much you love and care for your dog! (It would also be wonderful to have our puppy’s “mom” so close by!)

    Looking forward to reading more of your blog! (And an early congrats on your upcoming arrival!)

    October 10, 2011
  4. They’re beautiful dogs, Maggie. I’m looking forward to the updates and eventual puppy pix!

    October 10, 2011

Reply

