Skip to content

End Of An Era…Of Laziness

I’m the kind of person who has actually convinced herself that working out is bad for me.  I believe that water makes you gain weight, that too much running makes your thighs large and that muscle, weighing more than fat must…make you fat.  Psychotic? Yes.  But, I bet I’ve spent far fewer hours sweating then I would have otherwise…

While we were away on our holiday vacation in beautiful Hawaii there was plenty of time to catch up on sleep, relax, and enjoy time with our new little family.  I also had time to witness everyone (but me) working out sometimes 2-3 times a day, drinking gallons of water, choosing steamed fish and spinach over my filet and fries and more or less making me feel like a lazy and unhealthy slob. Thanks for that.

Fortunately, I had it pretty easy when it came to getting my body back after little Zander was born.  It’s sad but, I think if it had been tougher, I would have been more motivated to work out.  That will probably come back to bite me in the butt after baby #2.

I think it was somewhere between my guac & margs and everyone else’s 7am paddle boarding & beach runs where I decided that my 11 month vacation from exercise and calorie counting needed to come to an end. Immediately.  We arrived home late Sunday night and so far, I’ve gotten 2 workouts in and am on a search this afternoon for a Pilates classes to kick my butt a few times a week.  In a room full of people working out, I’m far more likely to give 100% then I am at home on the elliptical, with no one watching.

I’m banking on my commitment to this new and healthy lifestyle bringing me an 8 pack and glowing skin overnight.  Worst case, my new muscles will make my shirt arms tight and I can quit working out again.  It’s a win win.

More seriously, I think living an overall healthy life sets a good tone for all that you do. I don’t need to be uber healthy 24/7 but, if I can do it 50% of the time, I’m sure  it will only add good things.

I hope you all had as wonderful and relaxing of a holiday as I did! Take a look at some of the photos from our beautiful time in Hawaii! I can’t wait to be back there in July to watch Alex finish in the Transpac race!

XXX, Maggie

First flight!

Sunbathing has become MUCH more difficult.

Happy New Year!

 

Waipio Valley, so beautiful!

Dad and Z kicked my butt in Gin Rummy, multiple times.

Enjoying the black sand beach at Waipio! Thank you Annabel Mehran for the pretty photo!

Best lunch ever at Hualalai!

Enjoying Margaritas....and not working out!

Best beach at the Mauna Kea! Thanks to Annabel Mehran for the photo!

Heading home!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. You don’t need to work out- you look awesome! Congrats!

    January 12, 2012
  2. Pictures are really nice. Beautiful son…I think right now he looks alot like Daddy!

    January 12, 2012

Reply

