Skip to content

Oh, To Be A Girl Scout

I was thinking this morning about how easy it was to be a  little kid.  The only things that I cared about were wearing pink, playing at the cottage, my rock collection, mom’s attention, and…. being a Girl Scout, just like my big sister.

Thanks mom, for the pic and for being our Den Mother!

From the moment my sister became a Girl Scout, I made it my mission to be one too.  My older sister Julia, is a complete overachiever by nature.  Me, not so much.  Julia always had straight A’s, so I needed straight A’s.  She played Field Hockey and was a teachers pet so I… well, I played Field Hockey.  At any rate, I needed to become a Girl Scout.

Back in the day, Girl Scouts kind of consumed our lives.  It was about selling cookies, camping out, & struggling for those damn badges.  I got up early to put the flag up, tried to out arts & crafts the other kids, & memorized the Girl Scout Promise and Law to death.  At the time, it felt like the world was going to end if I did not become a Scout.  I didn’t.  Julia ended up hating it and quitting..so of course, so did I.   In my mind, I’ll forever be a Brownie.  Julia will always be a Girl Scout.   She’s a lawyer for God’s sake.  I should have seen that one coming.

Luckily for me, life these days has been smooth sailing.  I’m not quite sure why I was remembering my childhood struggles of living up to my sister.  I do know that the next time the waters get rough, I have to remember to look back on the days when I thought it was tough being a  Scout.  Oh, to be a kid again.

By the way, my son is still totally becoming a Boy Scout.

Thanks to all my aunts for the GS cookie support, I won many awards thanks to you.

Maggie

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Joy #

    Super sweet story and photo!!
    Xx

    January 24, 2012

Reply

