Skip to content

All You Need Is Love?

Apparently not, according to some people.

I recognize that  my exposure to homosexual life at an early age helped me not to be ignorant of others’ right to choose who they love.  I would like to think that if I did not have a gay father or if I had not grown up in the fashion industry, I would have figured out for myself (sooner then later) that it’s certainly not for me to decide.

I’m baffled that discriminating against anyone is something still happening in this day and age.  There are people starving, dying of disease, living in poverty and yet, there is still criticism about the way people choose to love?  Can’t we all just live and let live?

My step-father (married to my dad before he died) put this picture on his Facebook wall and was very saddened to have many negative comments posted about it.

Like him, I feel that there is no reason to get angry or say mean things about those who are homophobic.  We need less anger in the world, not more.  I have faith that more and more eyes are opened everyday.  One day, when pictures like this are posted, there will be no negativity and it will only be seen as the loving photo it is.

Because at the end of the day, it really is true.  All you need is love.

Maggie

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Erika Zavala #

    Well said Maggie, with you all the way!

    February 29, 2012
  2. Monika #

    I grew up in the military and all that I was ever taught was to accept people for who they are and not to judge anyone lest I be judged myself. But my biggest lesson was one that many people have forgotten in this day and age. If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

    February 29, 2012
  3. carol #

    I think that people who are homophobic and make horrible comments are actually afraid of anyone who is gay. For years I’ve heard people are generally against things they don’t understand and are afraid, that’s how they act out their fears. Sometimes I believe that and sometimes I just have to realize that there are such ignorant people among us that just don’t want to accept people for who they are and not what they are.

    Keep up the fight!
    Carol

    February 29, 2012
  4. Jeff "Scupp" Weldon #

    Maggie – very well said. Our son Bryan was married to his partner Phil last September in Cape Cod. A beautiful experience. They posted a profile pic of both of them kissing at their wedding. Someone complained and FB removed the picture. Unbelieveable, but truly sad ! Keep fighting the ignorance !

    February 29, 2012
  5. Ann Graham #

    Well said Maggie!
    Love,
    Ann

    February 29, 2012

Reply

