Skip to content

A Day To Remember

My little sister Patricia, just turned 17 years old today.  She is a beautiful, smart, funny, and athletic girl.  I have to say that because she is my sister but, I mean every word of it.  I love her to the end of the earth and I would do anything to protect her.  That’s why it makes me so very sad to know there are teenagers all over the world being bullied and teased.  Bullied and teased to the point that these young kids with all the potential in the world are choosing death rather then face the criticism of not being just like everyone else.  I don’t know one single cool person in the world who wants to be a bully.  I also, don’t know one single cool person who wants to be like everyone else.

I’d like to send so much love and my heartfelt condolences to Erin Foley’s family and friends.  Erin went to Watertown High School. I was fortunate enough to enjoy my years in high school there.  She passed away yesterday.

I’d like to encourage you to join A Day To Remember .  The site was started by  Patrick Fleming (a student in Watertown, NY)  to commemorate Erin and prevent more teenagers from following her tragic path.  Patrick says “I appreciate you helping our cause, and I hope that this will begin to help those who are struggling with being bullied and those individuals who are depressed.”

http://www.watertowndailytimes.com/article/20120516/NEWS03/705169734

I also read this on the To Write Love On Her Arms website and I think it is a very sweet and powerful message. You can read the whole vision statement on their website.
The vision is that community and hope and help
would replace secrets and silence. 
The vision is people putting down guns and blades
and bottles.
The vision is that we can reduce the suicide rate in
America and around the world.
The vision is that we would learn what it means to love
our friends, and that we would love ourselves enough to
get the help we need.
The vision is better endings.  The vision is the restoration
of broken families and broken relationships.  The
vision is people finding life, finding freedom, finding love.  
The vision is graduation, a Super Bowl, a wedding, a
child, a sunrise.  The vision is people becoming incredible
parents, people breaking cycles, making change.
The vision is the possibility that your best days are ahead.  

The vision is the possibility that we’re more loved than

we’ll ever know.  

The vision is hope, and hope is real.

You are not alone, and this is not the end of your story.

Bullying is happening everywhere.

Rest in peace, Erin.

Maggie
6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bobbi Fleming #

    Thank you for posting this. My son Patrick and and my daughter Danielle started the Day to Remember page. I really appreciate you adding it to your
    blog for more to see!
    Bobbi Fleming

    May 17, 2012
    • That’s very sweet of you, thank you. People should really be thanking you for having two amazing kids who are doing such an incredible thing. I’m sure you’re very proud, you certainly should be. I hope one day my kids will learn from someone like your children and stand up to fight for what’s right.

      Maggie

      May 17, 2012
      • Bobbi Fleming #

        We are very proud. It has been overwhelming all of the response to the page-over 4200! There is a rally walk in front of the school-basically to let the community know that the students are taking a stand against bullying and they want to help others who are struggling with depression. They want to be better people and treat others better. It is so good to see. They are expecting between 300 to 400 people!!! This has also helped Erin’s family deal with the pain of losing her. They are focusing on the cause so that others can be helped. It has been very healing for the community as a whole.alos

        May 19, 2012
  2. Sorry for your loss, I live in Florida and bulling happens all the time even in grade school, so sad, even sadder when school staff and the parents of the kids doing the bullying let this go on…We need to pray for a change….

    May 17, 2012
  3. Kevin #

    Very sad to loose a beautiful person to this senseless vigilance. Yes bullying is violence when it ends in death. What I want to know is who was doing the bullying and what is there punishment. Until we hold these kids responsible it will continue. They should be punished severely. I am sorry for the families loss and hope that in time they can find peace.

    May 17, 2012
  4. Vicki #

    Thank you for bringing this to the public’s attention. This is such a sad and unnecessary loss. Watertown is most definately not the only school affected by bullying. It is nationwide. We need to work to erase this.

    May 16, 2012

Reply

