Skip to content

The Good Life

I think everyone has ups and downs in their day to day lives. Ups, like..you just found out you are pregnant and downs like…you just found out someone you love is dying. Ups can be awesome and downs can seriously suck. That’s life though, isn’t it?

I was having lunch with a good friend the other day and caught myself talking too much and complaining about stupid, silly things. A girl who was mean to me and how awful life is because San Francisco doesn’t have as many cool parties as New York. Poor me. We moved on to more seriously upsetting things like why my jeans from the 9th grade don’t still fit? This, as I consumed a pizza.

When I got in the car to drive home, I started replaying our conversation in my head. My friend had told me about how she loves singing out loud when she’s in the car by herself so, I decided to do that too. Something was on the radio about this really being “the good life”.

We’d finished up the afternoon talking about how we were kind of amazed to even be alive. The things kids will do…. We laughed about relationships we’d miraculously escaped.

I’m not trying to say that life isn’t sometimes really terrifying and truly awful. It can be and I don’t wish that on anyone. What I want to say is that I believe, even when life does get bad, the dark cloud eventually rises.

And that’s when we’re right back with our ups and downs.

I’m having a lot of ups and downs right now. Someone I love very much is very sick with cancer. I was ill recently and pretty worried. One of my very best friends birthdays is today and my 2 little sisters just had their birthdays! We are going to the cottage next week and I can hardly wait. I get to see my uncle Bud, my mom, brother, sisters and my nephew who, may or may not like me. We have the most precious new schnauzer puppy (Winchester) Bea actually loves him and Al is completely tolerating him. Zander is the sweetest person I’ve ever met, my husband is absolutely wonderful and my heart is filled with love.

I’ve spent years wishing I was 5 lbs lighter, I’ll spend forever missing the east coast, and I’ll never stop dreaming of Henry.

I’m happy to be able to know that no ones life is perfect. I’m also happy to know that, while knowing my life’s not perfect…
this really is my good life. I couldn’t and I wouldn’t wish for more.

I hope you wouldn’t either.

Maggie

I think we were avoiding sitting in dog poop

Sister Julia and cousin David Clancy

Mom and aunt Kate

Sister Patricia, Z and me

With Ms. Laduke, the Bday girl (today)

Z with Gma Lucinda

Looking pretty beat but, with Z, B, and little Winny!

With Alex, cousin Owen, and cousin bride to be Annanaa…aka, Andrea

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ellen Dingman #

    Your words touched me, Maggie.

    May 20, 2012
  2. Dickl #

    Maggie,

    Great thoughts. Made my day. We have a lot to be thankful for……..

    and look at you…….Supermom, supermodel, superwife, and now philosopher!!!!

    May 20, 2012

Reply